Photo by MASS Design Group.

Fumihiko Maki Lecture: Michael Murphy

September 30, 2013
6p Reception, 6:30p Lecture
Steinberg Auditorium

Michael Murphy co-founded the nonprofit architectural firm MASS Design Group with Alan Ricks to improve social equity and health outcomes through design innovation. As executive director, Murphy oversees MASS' business development and marketing efforts, cultivating new partnerships with donors, NGOs, business leaders, and governments to lead design projects that enable the built environment to solve health challenges.

MASS' inaugural project, the 140-bed Butaro Hospital in rural Rwanda, opened in January of 2011 and has been featured in Domus, Architectural Record, Mark Magazine, the Boston Globe, and The New York Times. It has won a number of awards, including Acute Medical Care Facility of 2012 by Contract Magazine and the Zumtobel Group Award for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment (awarded every three years). MASS' Umubano Primary School, which opened July of 2011 in Kigali, Rwanda, was shortlisted as one of 20 international projects for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 2013. As a practice, MASS accepted the Designer of the Year Award for 2012 from Contract Magazine, the Curry Stone Design Prize for 2012, and the Architectural League of New York's Emerging Voices award for 2013.

Murphy has taught courses on design for infection control at Harvard University's School of Public Health and has served as Entrepreneur in Residence at Clark University. He serves on the advisory board for the Master of Professional Studies for the New York School of Interior Design, the 2013 TED Prize advisory board, and the Clinton Global Initiative advisory committee. Murphy holds a BA in English Literature from University of Chicago and a Master of Architecture from Harvard University Graduate School of Design.

Fumihiko Maki Lecture

The Fumihiko Maki Lecture recognizes annually an architect of international reputation whose work advances the optimism and strength of modern architecture. The lecture was established by the Graduate School of Architecture & Urban Design to honor renowned architect and former faculty member Fumihiko Maki, architect of Steinberg Hall, Earl E. and Myrtle E. Walker Hall, and the Mildred Lane Kemper Art Museum, all part of the Sam Fox School complex. Past Maki lecturers have included Ben van Berkel, David Chipperfield, Charles Correa, Tom Kundig, James Polshek, Steven Holl, Herman Hertzberger, Wang Shu, and Thom Mayne, among others.