2014 Founders Day Honors

Celebration honors distinguished faculty, alumni, supporters

Posted by Barbara Rea November 6, 2014

Acclaimed journalist and author Thomas L. Friedman will headline the annual Founders Day celebration at Washington University in St. Louis Saturday, November 8, at the Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch.

The annual banquet and ceremony that honors the 1853 founding of Washington University also confers the Distinguished Faculty Awards, Distinguished Alumni Awards, and the Robert S. Brookings Awards.

The Distinguished Faculty Awards recognize outstanding commitment to the intellectual and personal development of students. Recipients this year are:

Philip Bayly, PhD, the Lilyan and E. Lisle Hughes Professor of Mechanical Engineering and chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science in the School of Engineering & Applied Science;
Rebecca Dresser, JD, the Daniel Noyes Kirby Professor of Law
 in the School of Law and professor of ethics at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis;
Victoria J. Fraser, MD, the Adolphus Busch Professor of Medicine and chair of the Department of Medicine in the School of Medicine;
Tristram R. (T.R.) Kidder, PhD, the Edward S. and Tedi Macias Professor and chair of the Department of Anthropology in Arts & Sciences.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards recognize outstanding professional achievement, public service, exceptional service to Washington University, or 
all three. Recipients this year are:

Jay Jacobs (BA92), managing director and president, Pacific Investment Management Company LLC
Alicia McDonnell (JD95)
Walter L. Metcalfe Jr. (BA60), senior counsel and former chairman, Bryan Cave LLP
Dave Moellenhoff (BS92, BS92, MBA94), co-founder, 
Steven Cash Nickerson (JD85, MBA93), president and principal, PDS Tech Inc.;
Gene Schnair (BA73, MArch76, MBA76), fellow, American Institute of Architects and managing partner, 
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP.

Presented by the Board of Trustees, the Robert S. Brookings Award honors individuals for their extraordinary dedication and generosity to Washington University. Recipients this year are:

Donald (BS73) and Karen Jubel
Anabeth and John Weil.

For more information about this annual event, visit the Founders Day website.