2015 YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund

lululemon collection designed by Amanda Bass.

Five fashion design students awarded $5,000 scholarships

Posted by Katherine Welsch December 30, 2014

Five Sam Fox School fashion design students—seniors Sarah Ettinger and Becky Savitt, and juniors Amanda Bass, Haley Moore, and Priyanka Reddy—are recipients of the 2015 YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund award. Each of the merit-based scholarships is worth $5,000.

As part of the application process, students were asked to complete an extensive case study and design a collection for lululemon, the yoga-inspired athletic apparel company.

"Success in the fashion industry isn’t solely about design skills such as pattern-making and construction; you also have to have the business acumen to address issues of merchandising and branding," says lecturer Jennifer Ingram says. She drew from her own extensive experience in business management and product development to mentor students through the application process.

"The case study provided an important opportunity for students to think holistically about a collection," Ingram says. "They engaged in thorough analysis of lululemon's current position in the marketplace, and used that information to inform the design of their garments and develop of a marketing plan. It's extremely gratifying to have five students awarded scholarships for their efforts."

To view the Sam Fox School students' case studies, click on their names:

Amanda Bass
Sarah Ettinger
Haley Moore
Priyanka Reddy
Becky Savitt

The YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund is a national nonprofit association dedicated to promoting education of the fashion arts and business by granting scholarships to students and facilitating internships, mentorships, and career programs.

A total of 145 students from across the country will be presented with this year's YMA FSF Scholarships at the annual awards dinner January 7 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York. In addition to the five Sam Fox School students, two WUSTL business students—Daniela Gallo McCausland and Evan Hindes—are scholarship recipients.