Visiting Artists + Critics

Artist Michael Ray Charles conducts a studio visit with Julie Weinberger. Photo by Joe Angeles.

Visiting Artists + Lecturers

The School brings nationally and internationally recognized artists, designers, architects, historians, and critics to campus, promoting new ideas in practice, theory, and technology. Invited speakers often participate in graduate studio visits, conducting one-on-one reviews of work.

Artists, designers, and scholars participating in the School's annual Public Lecture Series for the 2016-17 academic year include Laylah Ali, Shimon Attie, Seymour Chwast, Silvia Kolbowski, Wangechi Mutu, John Douglas Powers, Shelley Rice, Dario Robleto, Martino Stierli, and Michael Williams.

Past Public Lecture Series speakers include: Xu Bing, Maggie Breslin, Gaby Brink, Michael Ray Charles, Huey Copeland, Mark Dion, Catherine Dossin, Henrik Drescher, Sam Durant, Lisa D. Freiman, Coco Fusco, Thomas W. Gaehtgens, Orly Genger, Mariam Ghani, Michelle Grabner, Candice Hopkins, Alfredo Jaar, Natasha Jen, Erica Kochi, Ruby Lerner, Won Ju Lim, Shaun O'Dell, Trevor Paglen, Jaume Plensa, Julian Rosefeldt, Lisa Sanditz, Anne Schaefer, Beverly Semmes, Christopher Sperandio, Renata Stih & Frieder Schnock, Andréa Stanislav, Michael Taylor, Jan Tumlir, Carrie Mae Weems, Paula Wilson, and Peter Yost.

External Critics

External aritsts, critics, theorists, and distinguished guests critically review the annual MFA exhibitions and conduct studio visits at the end of each academic year.

Past reviewers include: Zoe Beloff, Francesca Consagra, Lily Cox-Richard, Jean Dibble, Peter Dudek, Hasan Elahi, Amy Granat, Tiffany Holmes, Anita Jung, Jason Edward Kaufman, Simon Kelly, Ellen K. Levy, Danny Orendorff, Saul Ostrow, Tricia Paik, Michael Rees, David Salow, Kelly Shindler, Sue Spaid, Matt Strauss, Diana Thater, Meredith Tromble, Jan Tumlir, Frances Whitehead, Linda Weintraub, Eric Wesley, and Joe Wolin.