Stone & DeGuire Contemporary Art Award

Washington University alumni of the Master of Fine Arts (MFA) and Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) programs (with the exception of full-time faculty of the Sam Fox School) are eligible to apply for the Stone & DeGuire Contemporary Art Award. This award honors Nancy Stone DeGuire (1947-2013) and Lawrence R. DeGuire Jr. (1947-2006), who met as undergraduate art students at Washington University, were married, and worked closely together in a studio practice.

Awards are given every one to two years. A maximum of two awards will be given for each round, each award totaling $25,000. Funds will be used by the recipient within a year of receipt of the award to advance his or her art practice. Funds may be used for supplies and equipment, travel, studio rent, production of work, exhibition expenses, documentation of work, and other expenses directly related to the recipient's practice.

2017 Award

Ericka Beckman (BFA74) and Ian Weaver (MFA08) are the recipients of the inaugural Stone & DeGuire Contemporary Art Award. The artists were selected by a faculty committee from a large pool of talented alumni applicants, and they will each be awarded $25,000 to advance their art practices.
Read the full news release>>

2018 Call

The deadline for the 2018 call is November 15, 2017; check back for updates, including application guidelines and a link to submit materials. To ensure you receive full details about the 2018 call, please fill out this webform.

Application criteria from the 2017 call included the following components:

1. Narrative: A proposal in 500 words or less that describes your artistic practice, and identifies how project funds are likely to be spent and specific outcomes you anticipate for your project.
2. Current résumé.
3. Portfolio: A digital portfolio of images/videos reflecting a cohesive body of work. Images should include a caption with title, date, and materials. (Video files may be submitted separately.)

The award recipient is required to complete the following tasks:

1. Participate in an interview to be conducted and published by the University.
2. Provide artist photographs and documentation of work for promotional purposes.
3. Write and submit a 1- to 2-page report, accompanied by images, describing the impact of the award and use of the funds within 14 months of receiving the prize.


Contact Becky Dale at