©2018 OPSYS / Landscape Infrastructure Lab.

Fumihiko Maki Lecture: Pierre Bélanger

February 26, 2018
6p Reception, 6:30p Lecture
Steinberg Auditorium

Pierre Bélanger, a landscape architect, author, curator, and associate professor at Harvard's Graduate School of Design, will deliver the annual Fumihiko Maki Lecture, titled The Map Is No Longer the Territory.

Contesting the imperialism of state building and institutional systems, Bélanger has published two core books on remapping states of engineering and militarism: Landscape as Infrastructure and Ecologies of Power, co-authored with Alexander Arroyo. Additionally, Bélanger has published about the political, territorial, and spatial language of landscape in a recent issue of Harvard Design Magazine, Wet Matter, co-edited with Jennifer Sigler (@lowlowtide), as well as in the monograph of the 35th edition of the Pamphlet Architecture Series, GOING LIVE: From States to Systems (, profiling the visual representation of vegetal systems and different life forms. As a practicing designer, he received the Canada Prix de Rome in Architecture and was curator of the controversial Canada Pavilion and Exhibition EXTRACTION at the 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale (@1partperbillion). In collaboration with a range of creators and activists, he is currently completing an edited volume titled Extraction Empire, profiling the states, scales, and systems of Canada as the largest resource extraction nation on the planet.

Fumihiko Maki Lecture

The Fumihiko Maki Lecture recognizes annually an architect of international reputation whose work advances the optimism and strength of modern architecture. The lecture was established by the Graduate School of Architecture & Urban Design to honor renowned architect and former faculty member Fumihiko Maki, architect of Steinberg Hall, Earl E. and Myrtle E. Walker Hall, and the Mildred Lane Kemper Art Museum, all part of the Sam Fox School complex. Past Maki lecturers have included Ben van Berkel, David Chipperfield, Charles Correa, Tom Kundig, James Polshek, Steven Holl, Herman Hertzberger, Wang Shu, Thom Mayne, Michael Murphy, Jesse Reiser and Nanako Umemoto, and Carlos Ott, among others.