Ford house by Edward Ford. Photographer: Scott Smith.

Lecture: Edward Ford

January 24, 2011
6p Reception, 6:30p Lecture
Steinberg Auditorium

Edward Ford (BA71, Architecture; MArch72) will deliver the annual Architecture Alumni Lecture, which is supported by the George Anselevicius Memorial Fund and the Harris Armstrong Fund.

Ford is the Vincent and Eleanor Shea Professor in the School of Architecture at the University of Virginia. He is the author of The Details of Modern Architecture (MIT, 1990; German edition: Birkhauser, 1994; Japanese Edition: Maruzen, 2000) and The Details of Modern Architecture, Volume 2 (MIT, 1996; Japanese Edition: Maruzen, 2000), both supported by grants from the Graham Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, and the forthcoming The Architectural Detail. He has published articles in L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui, Inform, B, eAV, Detail, Harvard Design Magazine, The Oxford American, and Perspecta and was a consultant to the 1992 American Heritage Dictionary.

Ford's architectural work is the subject of the monograph Five Houses, Ten Details (Princeton Architectural Press, 2009). His design work has been published in The New American House, Japan Architect, Competitions, 18 Houses, ARQ, Inform, The Chronicle of Higher Education, and Oculus and has been exhibited at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, the Art Institute of Chicago, and the Chicago Foundation for Architecture. He won second prize in the 1990 Matteson Library Competition and third prize in the 1990 Japan
Architect Competition. In 2002, the Ford house won an Honor Award for Design from the Virginia AIA.

In 1997, Ford was the recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award from Washington University, and his publications have been recognized by the Association of Academic Publishers, the AIA, Lingua Franca, and The Architects Journal. In 2004, he was the Thomas Jefferson Visiting Fellow at Downing College at the University of Cambridge, and in 2010, he was the Pietro Belluschi Distinguished Visiting Professor at the University of Oregon. He has lectured at the National Building Museum, the University of Houston, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Maryland, Catholic University, Ohio State University, the University of Michigan, Parsons School of Design, Rice University, Syracuse University, Clemson University, Georgia Tech, Mississippi State University, the University of British Columbia, The Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, the University of Cambridge, the Architektur Zentrum, Vienna, the Ecole des Beaux-Arts of Versailles, and the Norske Arkitektakademi, the Alvar Aalto University in Helsinki. He was co-chairman of the 1996 ACSA National Technology Conference.

George Anselevicius Memorial Fund

The George Anselevicius Memorial Fund was made possible by a bequest from the estate of George Anselevicius, dean of Architecture at Washington University in St. Louis from 1968-1973. In addition to this lecture, the Anselevicius Fund supports an endowed scholarship for a Sam Fox School architecture student.

Harris Armstrong Fund

The Harris Armstrong Fund was established in 1976 by Louise Armstrong, in honor of her late husband, architect Harris Armstrong.