Solar Decathlon 2017

Students in the spring 2016 course for WashU's Solar Decathlon team, led by Hongxi Yin and Pablo Moyano.

Posted by DOE Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy January 22, 2016


The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has announced the 16 collegiate teams selected to participate in the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon 2017 competition. The teams, from colleges and universities across the United States and around the world, will now begin the nearly two-year process of building solar-powered houses that are affordable, innovative, and highly energy-efficient.

"President Obama's all-of-the-above energy strategy aims to create a safer and more sustainable planet, while ensuring American students and workers have the skills they need for the challenging jobs of today and tomorrow," said Richard King, DOE's Solar Decathlon director. "The Solar Decathlon competition supports the department's commitment to improving the nation's science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education efforts, and to building a more knowledge-intensive workforce."

Over the coming months, the 16 Solar Decathlon teams will design, construct, and test their houses before reassembling them at the Solar Decathlon 2017 competition site, which will be announced soon. As part of the Solar Decathlon, teams compete in 10 different contests—ranging from architecture and engineering to home appliance performance—while gaining valuable hands-on experience in clean energy design. The winner of the competition will be the team that best blends affordability, consumer appeal, and design excellence with optimal energy production and maximum efficiency. For the first time in the competition's history, the Solar Decathlon 2017 teams will be competing for $2 million in prize money.

In mid-2017, the student teams will showcase their solar-powered houses at the competition site to the public, providing free tours of renewable energy systems and energy-efficient technologies, products, and appliances that today are helping homeowners nationwide save money by saving energy. The solar-powered houses will represent a diverse range of design approaches; building technologies; target markets; and geographic locations, climates, and regions, including urban, suburban, and rural settings.

The following teams have been selected to compete in Solar Decathlon 2017:

École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Lausanne, Switzerland)
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and Daytona State College (Daytona Beach, Florida)
Georgia Institute of Technology (Atlanta, Georgia)
HU University of Applied Science Utrecht (Utrecht, Netherlands)
Missouri University of Science and Technology (Rolla, Missouri)
Northwestern University (Evanston, Illinois)
Rice University (Houston, Texas)
Syracuse University (Syracuse, New York)
University of Alabama at Birmingham (Birmingham, Alabama)
University of California at Berkeley (Berkeley, California)
University of California, Davis (Davis, California)
University of Maryland (College Park, Maryland)
University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Las Vegas, Nevada)
Washington State University (Pullman, Washington)
Washington University (St. Louis, Missouri)
West Virginia University (Morgantown, West Virginia)

The 16 teams include eight returning teams and eight new teams.

The Washington University team is led by Hongxi Yin, I-CARES Associate Professor, and Pablo Moyano, senior lecturer. The following students are enrolled in the Solar Decathlon course for fall 2015:

Undergradautes: Marina Archangeli, Gabe Dash, Rachel Hrobon, Hannah Landman, Samuel Lewis, Jodie Saunders, Megan Simmons, Jordan Thompson, Matt Weinberg, and Erin Wong.

Graduates: Jay Bassett, Kun Cheng, Alex Clouser, Yuwei Yang, Chenming Zhang, Zhao Zhang, Kun Zhong, and Hang Zhou.

Learn more about the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Decathlon 2017 at