Art+Design Awards 2016

Posted by Sam Fox School May 20, 2016


The Sam Fox School honored the outstanding achievement of students graduating from the College & Graduate School of Art during its annual recognition ceremony May 19, 2016, in Graham Chapel.

Belle Cramer Award in Printmaking
Dante Migone-Ojeda
Belle Cramer was a well-known St. Louis artist, and her family has given this award in her memory.

Margo Trump Award
Byung Hun Yoo

Paul Edward Birdsall Award in Visual Communications
Jacqueline Pifer
The Paul Edward Birdsall Award is given by Caroline Birdsall in memory of her husband, Paul Edward Birdsall. The award goes to a communication design student whose unassuming character, talent, hard work, enthusiasm, and humor exemplify the qualities of her husband.

Anne Fuller Dillon Prize
Paul Cronan
The Anne Fuller Dillon Prize was established by Dr. Robert Kuhlman and friends of Ms. Dillon to honor her tireless commitment to the School of Medicine's graphic communications program.

Morris M. Horwitz Award in Photography
Alexandra DeRosa

Jayne Ball Rousseau Memorial Prize
Grant Phillips

Mary Cowan Harford Award in Watercolor
Margaret Edelman
Danielle Leventhal
Christopher Reisenbichler

Al Parker Award for Excellence in Illustration
Sara Wong
The Al Parker Award for Excellence in Illustration goes to a student with the intelligence, industry, and style of Al Parker.

Jack Unruh Award in Illustration
Steph Waldo

Robert Weaver Award for Excellence in the Visual Essay
Margaret Flatley

John J. and Marjory B. Lewin Photography Prize
Leah Nordman
The John J. and Marjory B. Lewin Photography Prize was established in 2007. It is given to a WUSTL student whose concentration is in the study of photography and who demonstrates a commitment to social service in the community.

Saks Fifth Avenue Honorary Designer
Priyanka Reddy

Susan Sanders Block Silver Ripper Award in Fashion Design
Haley Moore

Dominic Michael Silver Scissors Designer of the Year Award
Amanda Bass

Hazel H. Huntsinger Memorial Prize in Painting
Liza Butts
Carla Steppan
Byung Hun Yoo

The Hazel H. Huntsinger Memorial Prize was established in 1994 in memory of Hazel Huntsinger to recognize one or more painting majors who show the most promise.

Caroline Risque Janis Prize in Sculpture
Daniel Shieh
Xinyi Xie

Each year a sculpture competition is held and winners are awarded the Caroline Risque Janis Prize.

Peter Marcus Prize in Printmaking
Emily Mogavero

Jeffrey Frank Wacks Scholarship
Danielle Leventhal
In 1998 Edward and Linda Wacks established the Jeffrey Frank Wacks Scholarship in honor of their son Jeffrey Wacks, painting major (BFA91). It is the family's wish that this scholarship be awarded to an outstanding graduating senior earning a BFA with an emphasis in painting. The funds from this award are to help the recipient to pursue his or her artistic interest.

Graduate Student Cité Residency Award
Alternate: Adam Turl
Winner: Yvonne Osei

John T. Milliken Foreign Travel Award
Alternate: Dante Migone-Ojeda
Winner: Daniel Shieh