Art+Design Awards 2017

Posted by Sam Fox School May 30, 2017


The Sam Fox School honored the outstanding achievement of students in the College & Graduate School of Art with its annual awards in art and design. Graduating students were honored during the annual recognition ceremony May 18, 2017, in Graham Chapel.

Belle Cramer Award in Printmaking
Viola Bordon
Inhwa Anna Joo

Belle Cramer was a well-known St. Louis artist, and her family has given this award in her memory.

Marsha Hertzman Blasingame Award in Printmaking
Savannah Bustillo

Margo Trump Award
Maggie Tarr

Paul Edward Birdsall Award in Visual Communications
Francesca Maida
The Paul Edward Birdsall Award is given by Caroline Birdsall in memory of her husband, Paul Edward Birdsall. The award goes to a communication design student whose unassuming character, talent, hard work, enthusiasm, and humor exemplify the qualities of her husband.

Anne Fuller Dillon Prize
Noah Baker
The Anne Fuller Dillon Prize was established by Dr. Robert Kuhlman and friends of Ms. Dillon to honor her tireless commitment to the School of Medicine's graphic communications program.

Jayne Ball Rousseau Memorial Prize
Emily Duncan

Mary Cowan Harford Award in Watercolor
Madeleine Gibson
Irene Hong

Al Parker Award for Excellence in Illustration
Christine Bosch
The Al Parker Award for Excellence in Illustration goes to a student with the intelligence, industry, and style of Al Parker.

Jack Unruh Award in Illustration
Shannon Levin

Robert Weaver Award for Excellence in the Visual Essay
Susan Lee

Morris M. Horwitz Award in Photography
Seth Lewis
Yuwei Pan
Shane Rossi
Caroline Schmidt

John J. and Marjory B. Lewin Photography Prize
Hannah Becker
Mary Jewel Brown
Shane Dollinger
Caroline Yoo

The John J. and Marjory B. Lewin Photography Prize was established in 2007. It is given to a WashU student whose concentration is in the study of photography and who demonstrates a commitment to social service in the community.

Saks Fifth Avenue Honorary Designer
Alexis Giger

Susan Sanders Block Silver Ripper Award in Fashion Design
Geige Silver

Dominic Michael Silver Scissors Designer of the Year Award
Helen Kwon

Eda L. and Clarence C. Cushing Memorial Prize in Painting
Lian Giloth
Kay Lee
Lydia Seaman
Clement Stanback

Hazel H. Huntsinger Memorial Prize in Painting
George Bowles
Sherry Xiao

The Hazel H. Huntsinger Memorial Prize was established in 1994 in memory of Hazel Huntsinger to recognize one or more painting majors who show the most promise.

Caroline Risque Janis Prize in Sculpture
Zoie Brown
Zoe Grieze
Sachi Nagase
Moriah Okun
Marina Peng
Rachel Youn

Each year a sculpture competition is held and winners are awarded the Caroline Risque Janis Prize.

Peter Marcus Prize in Printmaking
Katie Yun

Jeffrey Frank Wacks Scholarship
Adare Brown
In 1998 Edward and Linda Wacks established the Jeffrey Frank Wacks Scholarship in memory of their son Jeffrey Wacks, painting major (BFA91). It is the family's wish that this scholarship be awarded to an outstanding graduating senior earning a BFA with an emphasis in painting. The funds from this award are to help the recipient to pursue his or her artistic interest.

Graduate Student Cité Residency Award
Alternate: Ryan Doyle
Winner: Edo Rosenblith

John T. Milliken Foreign Travel Award
Alternate: Sherry Xiao
Winner: Bohao Zhang