Art + Design Awards 2018

Posted by Sam Fox School May 29, 2018


The Sam Fox School honored the outstanding achievement of students in the College & Graduate School of Art with its annual awards in art and design. Graduating students were honored during the annual recognition ceremony May 17, 2018, in Graham Chapel.

Belle Cramer Award in Printmaking
Savannah Bustillo
Belle Cramer was a well-known St. Louis artist, and her family has given this award in her memory.

Marsha Hertzman Blasingame Award in Printmaking
Samantha Smathers

Margo Trump Award
Anna Olson

Paul Edward Birdsall Award in Visual Communications
So A Ryu
The Paul Edward Birdsall Award is given by Caroline Birdsall in memory of her husband, Paul Edward Birdsall. The award goes to a communication design student whose unassuming character, talent, hard work, enthusiasm, and humor exemplify the qualities of her husband.

Anne Fuller Dillon Prize
Kevin Schneider
The Anne Fuller Dillon Prize was established by Dr. Robert Kuhlman and friends of Ms. Dillon to honor her tireless commitment to the School of Medicine's graphic communications program.

Jayne Ball Rousseau Memorial Prize
Jihyun Lee

Mary Cowan Harford Award in Watercolor
Sarah Oakley
Alice Xinyue Wang

Al Parker Award for Excellence in Illustration
Kaitlin Yang
The Al Parker Award for Excellence in Illustration goes to a student with the intelligence, industry, and style of Al Parker.

Jack Unruh Award in Illustration
Ruby Rose
Tay Tuteur

Robert Weaver Award for Excellence in the Visual Essay
Estar Se Young An

Morris M. Horwitz Award in Photography
Allison Hamburg
Hugh Hoagland
Merry Sun

John J. and Marjory B. Lewin Photography Prize
Seth Lewis
Yuwei Pan

The John J. and Marjory B. Lewin Photography Prize was established in 2007. It is given to a WashU student whose concentration is in the study of photography and who demonstrates a commitment to social service in the community.

Saks Fifth Avenue Honorary Designer
Amanda Abend

Susan Sanders Block Silver Ripper Award in Fashion Design
Raelyn Browning

Dominic Michael Silver Scissors Designer of the Year Award
Amanda Fosnight

Lillie Elise Willemsen Award
Adria Duncan

Eda L. and Clarence C. Cushing Memorial Prize in Painting
Seohyung Lee

Hazel H. Huntsinger Memorial Prize in Painting
Madeline Halpern
Lydia Seaman

Clement Stanback
The Hazel H. Huntsinger Memorial Prize was established in 1994 in memory of Hazel Huntsinger to recognize one or more painting majors who show the most promise.

Caroline Risque Janis Prize in Sculpture
Rashonda Daniels
Grace Zajdel
Zoie Brown
Zoe Grieze
Each year a sculpture competition is held and winners are awarded the Caroline Risque Janis Prize.

Peter Marcus Prize in Printmaking
Hailey Paige Nathel

Jeffrey Frank Wacks Scholarship
Irina Pavlova
In 1998 Edward and Linda Wacks established the Jeffrey Frank Wacks Scholarship in memory of their son Jeffrey Wacks, painting major (BFA91). It is the family's wish that this scholarship be awarded to an outstanding graduating senior earning a BFA with an emphasis in painting. The funds from this award are to help the recipient to pursue his or her artistic interest.

John T. Milliken Foreign Travel Graduate Award
Taylor Yocom

John T. Milliken Foreign Travel Award
Viola Bordon