Public Lecture Series

Ai Weiwei met—and took selfies—with those in attendance at the opening of his exhibition at the Kemper Art Museum.

Each semester, the Sam Fox School brings nationally and internationally recognized architects, artists, designers, landscape architects, urban designers, historians, and critics to campus, promoting new ideas in practice, theory, and technology. Invited speakers often interact with students during workshops and informal gatherings, in addition to participating in studio visits, where they conduct one-on-one reviews of work.

Spring 2020 Public Lectures

All events are free and open to the public. Unless otherwise noted, all events will begin at 6p in Steinberg Hall Auditorium and will be preceded by a reception at 5:30p.

Feb. 3
Michael Joo
Arthur L. and Sheila Prensky Island Press Visiting Artist Lecture

Feb. 19
Kyle T Webster
Graduate School of Art MFA in Illustration & Visual Culture Lecture
6p Reception, 6:30p Lecture

Feb. 20
Pablo Helguera
Multimedia Artist
Henry L. and Natalie Freund Visiting Artist Lecture

Feb. 24
Reinhard Bek
Conservator, Bek & Frohnert LLC
Lecture at 6p in the Kemper Art Museum

Feb. 27
Lola Sheppard
Founding partner, Lateral Office; Professor, University of Waterloo School of Architecture
Fumihiko Maki Lecture

March 2
Rob Giampietro
Director of design, Museum of Modern Art, New York; Senior critic, Rhode Island School of Design
Henry L. and Natalie Freund Visiting Artist Lecture

March 5
Tom Leader
Founder and principal, TLS Landscape Architecture
Anova Lecture for Landscape Architecture

March 18 +
Valentina Castellani
Former director, Gagosian Gallery
Women and the Kemper Public Lecture, Cosponsored by Olin Business School
*No reception before lecture

March 19 +
Kenneth Frampton
Ware Professor of Architecture, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation, Columbia University
Eugene J. Mackey Jr. Lecture

March 20 +
Wafaa Bilal
Graduate School of Art MFA in Visual Art Lecture

March 23 +
Natilee Harren
Assistant Professor of contemporary art history and critical studies, University of Houston
Lecture at 6p in the Kemper Art Museum

April 1 +
Alexander Alberro
Virginia Bloedel Wright Professor of Modern and Contemporary Art History, Barnard College
Lecture at 6p in the Kemper Art Museum

April 2 +
Fuensanta Nieto
Founding partner, Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos; Professor, Universidad Europea de Madrid
Coral Courts Lecture

April 6 +
Lev Evzovich of AES+F
Graduate School of Art MFA in Visual Art Lecture

April 7 +
Dan Graham
Art on Campus Lecture
*No reception before lecture

April 13 +
Charles A. Birnbaum, FASLA, FAAR
Founder, The Cultural Landscape Foundation
Inaugural Esley Hamilton Lecture

April 16 +
Thomas Phifer
Founding director, Thomas Phifer and Partners
CannonDesign Lecture Excellence in Architecture and Engineering

April 20 +
Wiel Arets
Founding director, Wiel Arets Architects; Professor of Architecture, Illinois Institute of Technology
Harris Armstrong Fund Lecture

April 22
José Zabala
Principal, Addenda Architects
Ruth & Norman Moore Visiting Professor Lecture

*Virtual lecture via Zoom

+ Postponed because of COVID-19 pandemic

Notable Past Speakers

Laylah Ali, Gabriel Asfour, Dave Hullfish Bailey, Sandra Barclay & Jean Pierre Crousse, Xu Bing, Maggie Breslin, Gaby Brink, Chris Buzelli, Michael Ray Charles, Seymour Chwast, Huey Copeland, Dennis Crompton, John Curley, Jan De Vylder, Odile Decq, Mark Dion, Keetra Dean Dixon, Catherine Dossin, Susannah Drake, Sam Durant, Peter Eisenman, Douglas Farr, Yvonne Farrell, Lisa D. Freiman, Tom Friedman, Coco Fusco, Thomas W. Gaehtgens, Jeanne Gang, Patrick Gmür, Michelle Grabner, Ann Hamilton, Andres L. Hernandez & Amanda Williams, Candice Hopkins, Kevin Huizenga, Georgina Huljich, David Humphrey, Junga Ishigami, Alfredo Jaar, Sharon Johnston, Kengo Kuma, Bijoy Jain, Natasha Jen, William Kentridge, Sylvia Koblowski, Erica Kochi, Jon Kolko, Erik L'Heureux, Ruby Lerner, David Leven & Stella Betts, Daniel Liebskind, Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle, Thom Mayne, V. Mitch McEwen, Mary McLeod, Achim Menges, Paul D. Miller (aka DJ Spooky), Rafael Moneo, Richard Murphy, Wangechi Mutu, Joan Ockman, Lorcan O'Herlihy, Trevor Paglen, Jaume Plensa, Monica Ponce de Leon, John Douglas Powers, Jesse Reiser & Nanako Umemoto, Shelley Rice, Julian Rosefeldt, Ralph Rucci, Tomás Saraceno, Nasrine Seraji, Wang Shu, Duane Slick, Christpher Sperandio, Vesper Stamper, Brett Steele, Martino Stierli, Michael Taylor, Nader Tehrani, Jan Tumlir, Gunther Vogt, Carrie Mae Weems, Tod Williams & Billie Tsien, Ai Weiwei, Thomas Woltz, John Yang, and Peter Yost.