Skip to content

Public Lecture Series

Each semester, the Sam Fox School brings nationally and internationally recognized architects, artists, designers, landscape architects, urban designers, historians, and critics to campus, promoting new ideas in practice, theory, and technology. Invited speakers often interact with students during workshops and informal gatherings, in addition to participating in studio visits, where they conduct one-on-one reviews of work.

Dec 7 at 5:30pm • Steinberg Auditorium

Artist, designer and animator Kelli Anderson will deliver the Henry L. and Natalie E. Freund Visiting Artist Lecture.

Known for reinventing commonplace objects in ways that disrupt audience expectations, artist, designer, and animator Anderson is the creator of — among other projects — “This Book is a Camera” (2015), a pop-up book that transforms into a working camera, and “This Book is a Planetarium” (2017), which explores how paper taps into larger phenomena of light, time, sound and mathematics.

Parking and Directions

Free parking is available in the East End Garage beginning at 5:00 p.m. Enter the garage from Forsyth Boulevard or Forest Park Parkway.

Click here for maps and directions

Recent Lecture Series Events

Check out some of our recent Public Lecture Series events! If a recording of the lecture is publicly available, you will find it on the event page. Visit the Sam Fox School YouTube channel for archived recordings.
Notable Past Speakers
Laylah Ali, Wiel Arets, Gabriel Asfour, Dave Hullfish Bailey, Sandra Barclay & Jean Pierre Crousse, Reinhard Bek, Tatiana Bilbao, Xu Bing, Ramon Bosch & Bet Capdeferro, Maggie Breslin, Gaby Brink, Chris Buzelli, Michael Ray Charles, Anne Anlin Cheng, Seymour Chwast, Huey Copeland, Dennis Crompton, Hugo Crosthwaite, David Antonio Cruz, John Curley, Jan De Vylder, Odile Decq, Mark Dion, Keetra Dean Dixon, Catherine Dossin, Susannah Drake, Jess T. Dugan, Sam Durant, Peter Eisenman, Douglas Farr, Yvonne Farrell, Brian Floca, Kenneth Frampton, Lisa D. Freiman, Tom Friedman, Coco Fusco, Thomas W. Gaehtgens, Chitra Ganesh, Jeanne Gang, Rob Giampietro, Hope Ginsburg, Patrick Gmür, Michelle Grabner, H Arquitectes, Ann Hamilton, Pablo Helguera, Andres L. Hernandez & Amanda Williams, Candice Hopkins, Eric Höweler & J. Meejin Yoon, Kevin Huizenga, Georgina Huljich, David Humphrey, Junga Ishigami, Alfredo Jaar, Carlos Jiménez, Sharon Johnston, Michael Joo, Kengo Kuma, Bijoy Jain, Natasha Jen, William Kentridge, Sylvia Koblowski, Erica Kochi, Jon Kolko, Erik L'Heureux, Lisa Lapinski, Tom Leader, Ruby Lerner, David Leven & Stella Betts, Daniel Liebskind, Cole Lu, Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle, Thom Mayne, V. Mitch McEwen, Mary McLeod, Achim Menges, Nicole Miller, Paul D. Miller (aka DJ Spooky), Rafael Moneo, Richard Murphy, Wangechi Mutu, Vidhya Nagarajan, Fuensanta Nieto, Joan Ockman, Lorcan O'Herlihy, Chelina Odbert, Ken Tadashi Oshima, Dwayne Oyler & Jenny Wu, Trevor Paglen, Maya Muchawsky Parnas, Jaume Plensa, Monica Ponce de Leon, Richie Pope, John Douglas Powers, Jesse Reiser & Nanako Umemoto, Shelley Rice, Brian Richter, Deborah Roberts, Dario Robleto, Julian Rosefeldt, Ralph Rucci, Tomás Saraceno, Ingrid Schaffner, Oliver Schulze, Sheldon Scott, Nasrine Seraji, Lola Sheppard, Wang Shu, Taryn Simon, Duane Slick, Christpher Sperandio, Marcelo Spina, Vesper Stamper, Brett Steele, Martino Stierli, Stephanie Syjuco, Marina Tabassum, Michael Taylor, Nader Tehrani, Jan Tumlir, Gunther Vogt, Adrian Octavius Walker, Carrie Mae Weems, Tod Williams & Billie Tsien, Yasmin Vobis, Kyle T. Webster, Ai Weiwei, Thomas Woltz, John Yang, and Peter Yost.